Need help Identifying minnows

• Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_perci4me_*

Guest_perci4me_*
  • Guests

Posted 26 June 2010 - 11:16 PM

Just got back from a business trip to Syracuse, NY and while there I stopped off to collect some native fish. The intent was to collect darters, but I found some interesting minnows that I decided to take back with me. However I am not an expert in minnows, and need some help outside of some preliminary research. Here are the some pics and what I think they might be:

Attached File  P6261859comp.JPG   33.3KB   1 downloads
I am almost certain this might be some type of Sucker or Stoneroller, although I am beginning to thing it is neither. Collected from Fox Creek, Schoharie, NY

Attached File  P6261860comp.JPG   33.16KB   0 downloads
I think I have this narrowed down to either a Blacknose Dace or a Western Blacknose Dace. Collected from an Unnamed creek outside of Polkville, NY

Attached File  P6261866comp.JPG   34.89KB   0 downloads
I think this might be a Longnose Dace. Collected from Fox Creek, Schoharie, NY

The last two pics are of a unidentified pygmy sunfish that was given to me after a friend of mine went collecting near his home in Florida. I have done some research but nothing comes up as conclusive, so I figured Id post them on here to see if anyone can ID it:

Attached File  P6261867comp.JPG   43.61KB   0 downloads
Attached File  P6261871comp.JPG   36.4KB   0 downloads

Thanks in advance to anyone who can help me with this. I like to know exactly what I have for future research purposes.

#2 Guest_MrCatfish_*

Guest_MrCatfish_*
  • Guests

Posted 26 June 2010 - 11:35 PM

The first one looks like white sucker,second one eastern blacknose dace, third longnose dace. I'm not sure on the sunfish.

#3 Guest_bumpylemon_*

Guest_bumpylemon_*
  • Guests

Posted 27 June 2010 - 07:35 AM