Red Breast Sunfish - tankmates?

28 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_twohuskies_*

Guest_twohuskies_*
  • Guests

Posted 04 July 2010 - 09:09 AM

Hi! I'm pretty new to natives, and have what I believe is a red breasted sunfish. I have pics, but battery needs to charge before I can offload them.

Anyway, I raised her (I think it's a female) in a 20L, but just moved her to a 55. She seems timid and lonely in that big tank all by herself. So, I'm wondering what I can put in with her?

Thank goodness I found this forum!

Edited by twohuskies, 04 July 2010 - 09:09 AM.

#2 Michael Wolfe

Michael Wolfe
  • Board of Directors
  • North Georgia, Oconee River Drainage

Posted 04 July 2010 - 11:48 AM

redbreast can get to be pretty big... tank mates should be large enough not to fit in her mouth or they will end up there... can't tell here you are from, but some cyprinella shiners might be nice and are tough enough to stand living with a sunfish.
Either write something worth reading or do something worth writing. - Benjamin Franklin

#3 Guest_UncleWillie_*

Guest_UncleWillie_*
  • Guests

Posted 04 July 2010 - 01:36 PM

I second what Michael said. I've had redbreasts in the past and most times they become very aggressive once they hit the 4-5 inch mark. I have kept them with adult spotfins shiners without a problem until the redbreast reached 6 inches. But at that length it successfully killed off a bluegill and a rockbass. They certainly need room in a tank if you don't want things to get messy. All of mine were males, which could have influenced the outcome.

#4 Guest_twohuskies_*

Guest_twohuskies_*
  • Guests

Posted 04 July 2010 - 03:05 PM

Thanks for the quick replies! I had read that they were pretty aggressive; that's why she's a lonely-only. :biggrin: She's about 5", including tail. In the 20L, I saw her "fighting" her reflection one day. I figured that meant she was gonna be tough to house with other fish.