Research Ideas

4 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_NateTessler13_*

Guest_NateTessler13_*
  • Guests

Posted 22 January 2007 - 04:42 PM

Hi,
I am an undergraduate student at Bowling Green State University in Ohio. I have been given the oppurtunity to work on an independent research project here. I am deciding to use Native Fish for the research project. The fish I already have collected for the project are Variegate Darters, Iowa Darters, and Blackside Darters. I was looking for some ideas for what I could do with the fish. I have a 45 gallon tank to use for the project. So far, I think I might be doing a habitat analysis project in which I put all those fish together (4 of each) and watch them (video tape) and see how space and competition drive which fish to which parts of the aquarium. I will then compare that to literature available on the fish. I will have the tank portioned off into three different habitats...1.) Rocky with a powerhead set up to maximize flow 2.) Woody debris to create breaks in the flow 3.) Planted area with lots of thick vegetation. What do you guys think? Can you think of any ways to improve the design?

-Nate

#2 Guest_ashtonmj_*

Guest_ashtonmj_*
  • Guests

Posted 22 January 2007 - 05:10 PM

Habitat partitioning is well documented especially recently in diverse communities of darters. I could rattle off a half dozen plus that are just cited in my thesis within the last 10 years.