New Guy - Stocking suggestions for a 75

7 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_Pigfarmer111_*

Guest_Pigfarmer111_*
  • Guests

Posted 17 July 2010 - 03:54 PM

Hey there everybody, I just registered today and I'm checking out the site and I must say, it's very impressive!! I've been keeping Cichlids and Polypterus for about 5 years or so, thinking of starting a Native tank. I'd like to have Sunfish (Longear or Pumpkinseed look SWEET!)as the focal point of a 75. What other species can I keep with these? I read where Pumpkinseeds can be pretty aggressive. How does that aggression compare to say, an adult male Green Terror or Jack Dempsey? How many sunfish could I keep in a 75 if it were a species only tank? What about a community setup, could I go with some bottom dwelling species (darters) and some surface dwellers? So whattya think everybody, got some advice for the new guy?

#2 Guest_donkeyman876_*

Guest_donkeyman876_*
  • Guests

Posted 17 July 2010 - 04:18 PM

Welcome to the forum! I have a pumpkinseed and they are not overly aggressive if there are lots of them. This being said there are problems with this (large bio-load and no room for other species). Longears are not nearly as aggressive and are probably a better choice for a community tank. Ad for darters they will be eaten by the sunfish. If you would like a tank with darters (Which are really cool fish) I would recommend smaller shiners or some other sort of minnows, Topminnows would give a nice balance of the whole tank being covered with Mudminnows or something in the middle. Your options are almost infinite, just have fun with it!! Hope you enjoy the forum!

#3 Guest_CATfishTONY_*

Guest_CATfishTONY_*
  • Guests

Posted 17 July 2010 - 05:25 PM

i think a tank with shiners and some orange spot sunfish looks nice.
i have a stream tank with OS and creek chubs some shiners and catfish.
this tank has fish @ all water levels and is a very active tank to watch.

http://gallery.nanfa...epomis/humilis/