native fish at nature center in NM

• Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_Daphnia_*

Guest_Daphnia_*
  • Guests

Posted 03 October 2010 - 07:24 PM

I am in charge of setting up a tank to exhibit native fish at a small nature center in New Mexico. First off, this is being done with the knowledge of local game and fish officials. And I've been keeping aquariums for 25 years and give talks to other people about water quality and "aquarium ecology", so I'm good with those issues. But this is my first experience with native fish and with an aquarium of this size.

We have a donated 180-gallon tank with a suitably large canister filter. The gravel was kept wet from the previous tank setup, and so far we've had no cycling-related problems. The only misgiving I have is the temperature: it's been 72-75F and I have no way to bring it down. We can't afford a chiller.

The tank was stocked on September 16 with 3 chubs, 3 suckers, and 4 dace. All of them acclimated well and within a week or so were eating sinking carnivore pellets and algae wafers.

Lesson #1: dace can jump out of small spaces. The tank was covered, but there was a triangular gap around the filter uptake tube. Two of the dace managed to jump out. The gap is now covered.

Lesson #2: gas bubble disease. Since they came from a stream environment, I upgraded to a stronger air pump and bubble bar about a week after getting the fish. Around Sept 28, I discovered that 4 of the fish (3 chubs and 1 dace) had obvious bubbles embedded in their skin. Prior to this, these same fish had been observed actively swimming in the stream of bubbles. As of today, the affected fish have died. The remaining fish (3 suckers and 1 dace) have no apparent bubbles. As soon as I saw the problem, I reduced the aeration and moved the bubble bar up near the top of the tank so the fish cannot swim in the bubbles.