Blind Mexican Cavefish Question

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_fundulus_*

Guest_fundulus_*
  • Guests

Posted 10 November 2010 - 08:06 PM

Nick Zarlinga received this on the NANFA question line, so I thought I should post it here if anyone can help Josh.

Hello,

I am a researcher at the Univ of Cincinnati - I have studied a freshwater tetra called the blind Mexican cavefish (Astyanax mexicanus) for several years. I am having a good deal of difficulty breeding this species. I was given your organization's name as a potential contact for receiving help in attempting to get my animals to breed. Is there anyone that may have an interest in assisting me and my lab in getting our fishes to breed?

With many thanks,
Josh

Joshua Gross, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Department of Biological Sciences
University of Cincinnati, 816 Rieveschl Hall
312 College Drive
Cincinnati, OH 45221
Email: joshua.gross at uc.edu
Phone: 513-556-9708 Fax: 513-556-5299

#2 Guest_EricaWieser_*

Guest_EricaWieser_*
  • Guests

Posted 10 November 2010 - 11:34 PM

I was under the impression that breeding them was basically the same as it was any other tetra, except for the spawning trigger of a temperature drop. Has that person read this? http://freshaquarium...p/blindcave.htm "To stimulate spawning drop the water temperature to 66-68 degrees."

Edit: They're in Cincinnati. I hate asking something a Ph.D. has probably already considered, but what are their pH and general hardness?

Edit #2: And usually with tetras the issue is not that the fish aren't spawning, it's that you never see any young because they all get eaten. Tank setup and plant density are very important.

Edited by EricaWieser, 10 November 2010 - 11:48 PM.

#3 Guest_exasperatus2002_*

Guest_exasperatus2002_*
  • Guests

Posted 11 November 2010 - 10:58 AM