Any restrictions in Idaho?

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_Baysin_*

Guest_Baysin_*
  • Guests

Posted 12 December 2010 - 04:54 AM

So I'm new to the state of Idaho, and I'm trying to verify if there's any legal restrictions to keeping native fish in the aquarium. Obviously there's the various protected species, and I've familiarized myself with the fishing regs. However, I've not actually seen anything that specifically states that you can or can not keep native, non-game, non-protected fish (e.g. mottled sculpin and longnose dace) in the aquarium. The fishing handbook says you have to kill any fish you catch in a minnow trap (yikes!) but that's presumably if you're intending to use them as bait, not to put them in an aquarium, so I'm trying to clear that up before I go about doing any collecting. If anybody knows for sure, I'd appreciate a heads up.

Thanks!

#2 Guest_Newt_*

Guest_Newt_*
  • Guests

Posted 22 December 2010 - 06:41 PM

You'll have to check with your state DNR to get good info. Many states do not have rules regarding catching fish and keeping them in the home, so often it becomes an exercise in how to adapt the existing rules to apply to you. It sounds like Idaho does not want live fish taken away from the water, which could mean that you will not be allowed to take anything home with you.

#3 Guest_Baysin_*

Guest_Baysin_*
  • Guests

Posted 15 February 2013 - 02:39 AM