How to catch small minnows in small stream?

16 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_Pir_*

Guest_Pir_*
  • Guests

Posted 12 December 2010 - 12:51 PM

Near my house in MD, there is a woods behind our neighborhood. It has a smaller stream in it, and every so often we go down there. The stream is un-named, but it runs into Bynum run. The stream is 2 inches deep and 3 feet wide in some spots, but there are big pools that can be up to 5-6 feet wide and pushing 4 feet deep. In each pool, there is a school of around 20-30 little minnows. I don't know what species they are, but I'd like to collect some and find out. We have a minnow trap, but I'm not sure if the holes are small enough. We can catch mummichogs in it when we're down the ocean, but they're retty thick. I'm also pretty good with a cast net. I'm getting a seine net pretty soon, so that could be another option. I would only really want maybe 8-10 minnows, and I'd keep them in a 10 or 20g. While I am new to native fish keeping, I'm experienced with fishkeeping in general.

#2 Guest_EricaWieser_*

Guest_EricaWieser_*
  • Guests

Posted 12 December 2010 - 01:35 PM

First off, do you have a fishing license? Here's a website on how to get one: http://www.dnr.state...ice/license.asp
Here's a printable fishing license application: http://www.dnr.state...nload/dnrf3.pdf

Remember not to collect any bivalves (here's a complete list of things whose collection is regulated: http://www.dnr.state...ntidalregs.html )

I don't see any regulations on seines. Here where I am in Ohio, there's a maximum size for seines and regulation on how big/small the holes in the seine can be. But I can't find anything on seines in Maryland. Hmm. You can ask the people when you get your fishing license. Then you can shop around for a seine that's within regulation size. I got mine for ten bucks on ebay. :)