Is ayone in Maryland?

11 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_Pir_*

Guest_Pir_*
  • Guests

Posted 22 December 2010 - 03:14 PM

Hi, I'm Pir, and I'm new to the forum. I'm 14, and I'm going to do a native fish tank. I want to have species that I have collected from near my house. I'm thinking I'll get a 20 Long or 30g tank, and have Greenside, Tesselated, or Banded darters (the latter 2 are supposedly found in my county). I live 10 minutes away from where the Maryland darter was last seen. I also want to have some blacknose dace, which I can find practically in my back yard. Though I am not new to tropical fish, I am new to natives. I know very little about there care and not a lot about collecting either. I was wondering if anyone was going to be collecting and would let me tag along, or if someone wanted to come collecting with me. I wouldn't be able to do it until it's a little warmer and I have a tank set up, I'm just gauging interest.

Thanks.

#2 Guest_Pir_*

Guest_Pir_*
  • Guests

Posted 22 December 2010 - 03:49 PM

After doing some research on this interactive map: http://mdimap.towson.edu/streamhealth/ , I think I want to collect in Broad Creek. There are madtoms, 3 darter species, and some other cool fish. I am familiar with the boy scout camp up there, and I'm sure it would be easy to get permission. I'm not sure if you'd even need it.

#3 Guest_bart_*

Guest_bart_*
  • Guests

Posted 22 December 2010 - 05:56 PM

I currently live in wilmington DE, not to far from you. If you'd be interested in poking around the Susquehanna and it's tribs in PA you're welcome to come along sometime. I know some good spots.

#4 Guest_Pir_*

Guest_Pir_*
  • Guests

Posted 22 December 2010 - 06:15 PM

Ok, thanks. Broad Creek is a tributary to the Susquehanna as well, just a little more South. Actually a very pretty area up there. What kind of fish are you catching in these tributaries?

#5 Guest_ashtonmj_*

Guest_ashtonmj_*
  • Guests

Posted 23 December 2010 - 11:19 AM