GA dipnets... another interpretation

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Michael Wolfe

Michael Wolfe
  • Board of Directors
  • North Georgia, Oconee River Drainage

Posted 30 January 2007 - 09:31 PM

As a Georgia resident, I thought I would clarify something...

Dipnets are legal.
There is not a restriction on them.

The law says that shad are a game fish...
then it says you cannot use a seine/dipnet for game fish...
then it says that you can dipnet for shad if you use them as bait...

That's what the law was trying to accomplish, allowing the dipneting of shad (a gamefish) as bait.

Other than that, dipnets are grouped in with seines as a way of taking non-game baitfish.
Either write something worth reading or do something worth writing. - Benjamin Franklin

#2 Guest_Brooklamprey_*

Guest_Brooklamprey_*
  • Guests

Posted 30 January 2007 - 09:43 PM

As a Georgia resident, I thought I would clarify something...

Dipnets are legal.
There is not a restriction on them.

The law says that shad are a game fish...
then it says you cannot use a seine/dipnet for game fish...
then it says that you can dipnet for shad if you use them as bait...

That's what the law was trying to accomplish, allowing the dipneting of shad (a gamefish) as bait.

Other than that, dipnets are grouped in with seines as a way of taking non-game baitfish.

That is kind of what I read as well....Nice to hear another clarification of that.

#3 Guest_edbihary_*

Guest_edbihary_*
  • Guests

Posted 31 January 2007 - 01:15 AM

Michael, that is what I took from the previous thread, although nobody put it anywhere near as succinctly as you just did. The answer couldn't be more clear now. Thanks for settling the matter.

Richard, I think it is apparent that you and I disagree about a few things. But even so, I did want to go on record publicly as saying that I highly respect you. I look forward to meeting you and shaking hands on the upcoming Maumee trip! See you then.