Tiny, solid black catfish

16 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_lgyure85_*

Guest_lgyure85_*
  • Guests

Posted 17 July 2011 - 06:55 PM

Hello! I have a (hopefully) quick question. I am very new to observing fish in their natural environment, but while at Fall Creek Fall in SE Tennessee I found a few tiny (1-1.5 in) solid black catfish. I almost mis-took them for tadpoles, but after closer examination, they clearly had whiskers, and swam like catfish. They were at the base of Caney Falls, hiding under rocks near shore. I took a few pictures that I can post if needed, but they aren't very good. Thanks in advance!

Edit: I attached the best picture I have. You can sort of see the whiskers in the crease between the ring and the hand holding it. This is one of the smaller ones, though the biggest were less than twice this size.

Attached Images

• HPIM0156.JPG

Edited by lgyure85, 17 July 2011 - 07:07 PM.

#2 Guest_jblaylock_*

Guest_jblaylock_*
  • Guests

Posted 17 July 2011 - 06:57 PM

Posting the photos would likely be helpful.

#3 Guest_lgyure85_*

Guest_lgyure85_*
  • Guests

Posted 17 July 2011 - 07:08 PM

Posting the photos would likely be helpful.

Done!

#4 Guest_EricaWieser_*

Guest_EricaWieser_*
  • Guests

Posted 17 July 2011 - 07:30 PM

The species of catfish found in Tennessee are, according to http://www.tnfish.or...ication_Key.htm
channel catfish
blue catfish
flathead catfish
brown bullhead
black bullhead
yellow bullhead
and white catfish and freckled madtom according to http://www.tnfish.or...mation_TWRA.htm

There are some photos on those websites.

The issue is that the young can look really different from the adults. This website has a photo of a blue catfish (very light colored) and a photo of its young (very dark colored): http://calfish.ucdav...s/?uid=9&ds=241

Edited by EricaWieser, 17 July 2011 - 08:28 PM.

#5 Guest_NVCichlids_*

Guest_NVCichlids_*
  • Guests

Posted 17 July 2011 - 08:14 PM

i will guess a species of bullhead.