Plant Pruning

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_mshi_*

Guest_mshi_*
  • Guests

Posted 09 February 2007 - 08:12 AM

As you can tell by this question I am new to aquatic plants. I have a 75 set up using the low tech Walstad method with locally collected plants (Northeast PA). I am 6 weeks in and the plants are growing very well. I think that I should start pruning soon. Things are going well and I don't want to risk damaging the plants so are there any pruning dos and donts I should know about. I "think" I have the plants ID'd as Starwort, Watercrest, Elodea, and Ludwigia. As a test I pruned a top section of the Elodea and replanted the cut top. The top seems fine but the remaining bottom doesn't look well. The bottom is also sending out long thread like runners from the cut area. Is this normal.

#2 Guest_killier_*

Guest_killier_*
  • Guests

Posted 09 February 2007 - 08:54 PM

As you can tell by this question I am new to aquatic plants. I have a 75 set up using the low tech Walstad method with locally collected plants (Northeast PA). I am 6 weeks in and the plants are growing very well. I think that I should start pruning soon. Things are going well and I don't want to risk damaging the plants so are there any pruning dos and donts I should know about. I "think" I have the plants ID'd as Starwort, Watercrest, Elodea, and Ludwigia. As a test I pruned a top section of the Elodea and replanted the cut top. The top seems fine but the remaining bottom doesn't look well. The bottom is also sending out long thread like runners from the cut area. Is this normal.

elodea does that just weak roots to suck out nutents(really bad speller)

#3 Guest_nativeplanter_*

Guest_nativeplanter_*
  • Guests

Posted 13 February 2007 - 06:07 PM