Crayfish and/or US fish tank thoughts

20 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_StygianSteel_*

Guest_StygianSteel_*
  • Guests

Posted 31 August 2011 - 12:19 PM

Hey all. So me and the wife have been talking about setting up a new aquarium. I currently have a tropical community tank and a betta and friends sort of setup (20 gallon & 10 gallon respectively) in both our upstairs rooms so I'm not new to aquariums, but I am new to natives.

What I'm thinking of doing is setting up a larger tank downstairs in my living room (size is negotiable at this point, but I'm thinking a 30 or 33 gallon maybe). A practical concern is that I need something that's not fussy about temperature. Let's say my wife is 'frugal' ;) and doesn't like to heat nor air condition the downstairs when not in use (which isn't often). So the temps don't exactly stay room temperature and I'm sure will cause some temp fluctuation. I've been researching fish from around here (US/Connecticut) thinking perhaps they'd be a little more accepting of changing temps. This could be buffered, so to speak, with a heater if needed, but the heaters are based on room temp for the most part and I'm sure it would change seasonally a bit.

So with that preamble out of the way, there are two things that have caught my eye. Crayfish and Sunfish. I'm just looking for some opinions/ideas really.

One question that comes to mind is if I was going to go with a Crayfish is there anything that you think would make a good tankmate that would not either be eaten or be the eater of the cray? Particularly any type of Sunfish that you all think might coexist (dwarfs/pygmys/anything). I'm leaning towards the Cray because they are super hardy and rather interesting, but I also find Sunfish quite beautiful. I've been attracted to those ever since I saw some in a local lake (Greens). Another I've been eyeing in particular and have seen for sale is the Dollar Sunfish.