Shiners, Darters, in a 75 gallon

43 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_NotThePainter_*

Guest_NotThePainter_*
  • Guests

Posted 22 November 2011 - 02:48 PM

Hello

I'm new to Natives but not new to fishkeeping. Over the next 6 months I plan to start up a NA Native's tank. The plan is for a 75 gallon tank with about 10 rainbow darters and a large number of Rainbow Shiners and maybe some Bluefin Killies. I figure that planning now will help prevent disaster later. I have read the New to Natives 101 doc, and about a million web pages, but the more knowledge the better. (And if there are any native keepers in south east Massachusetts, awesome, say hi!)

The Fish Room

My fish room is my home office. I'm a software guy and I sit there 8-10 hours a day, 5 days a week. I'll have a 55 in there and a 10, both kept around 80 degrees. The room is heated in the winter and cooled with a window unit in the summer. The heater is on a programmable thermostat, set to 68 degrees when I'm there and 58 when I'm not. The AC is only on when I'm there. I live in Provincetown Mass so it doesn't get all that hot here in the summer. You can see climate data at http://www.city-data...sachusetts.html but the daily high reaches around 80 degrees and a low of 60 in the middle of the summer. So it is possble for the fish room to get warm in the summer, but not that warm. We occaisonally get into the 90s but the AC will certainly be running then, at least Monday through Friday! The fish room is well shaded.

The Tank