Wild Zebra danio

10 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_jfb_*

Guest_jfb_*
  • Guests

Posted 02 February 2012 - 03:30 PM

I'm a postdoc interested in finding locations in the US where zebra danio (danio rerio) is living in the wild such as streams, ponds, lakes, road-side ditch, etc... I realize they are not indigenous to the US, but I'm assuming that there have been enough accidental/aquarium releases over the past few decades that there should be some sites in the southern states were they've been established for a couple of years. I doubt any of you are actively collecting zebra danio, but I figure that folks on this site may have run across them while collecting other fish. I'm located near SF Bay in CA so that is most interesting to me, but locations as far as FL would be interesting too. I'm new to the field so any information would be appreciated. Thanks.

Edited by jfb, 02 February 2012 - 03:32 PM.

#2 Guest_decal_*

Guest_decal_*
  • Guests

Posted 02 February 2012 - 08:28 PM

Are you familiar with the USGS Nonindigenous Aquatic Species database? It has a few hits for zebra danios, none terribly recent.

http://nas.er.usgs.gov/

#3 Guest_EricaWieser_*

Guest_EricaWieser_*
  • Guests

Posted 02 February 2012 - 09:00 PM

...I'm assuming that there have been enough accidental/aquarium releases over the past few decades that there should be some sites in the southern states were they've been established for a couple of years....

Have you seen this?

The American Midland Naturalist 160(2):477-479. 2008
doi: http://dx.doi.org/10.../0003-0031(2008)160[477:FCOLLT]2.0.CO;2
Field Confirmation of Laboratory-Determined Lower Temperature Tolerance of Transgenic and Wildtype Zebra Danios, Danio Rerio
Cheryl Cortemeglia, Thomas L. Beitinger, James H. Kennedy, and Tammie Walters
Department of Biological Sciences, University of North Texas, P.O. Box 5218, Denton 76201

ABSTRACT