FL juvenile sunfish?

• Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_blcorona_*

Guest_blcorona_*
  • Guests

Posted 26 March 2012 - 06:41 PM

Hi and thank you in advance. I'm relatively new to native fish, but an experienced keeper of many kinds of other fish koi to marine and all the little guys in between. I have a small (~1000 gal) heavily planted pond that has been planted and empty for over a year except for a few melanistic Gambusia, a small breeding population of Heterandria formosa and three feral male Variatus platys, all from a local drainage ditch. It's really heavily planted, azolla on everthing that isn't something else, soft acidic water with a bottom of some sand/leaf mulm and local clay. Plants look awesome since it's almost summer here this year! Anyway, the setup was needed to get you to the point of the ID- I was out dip netting in a side creek of the Santa Fe River near Worthington Springs, FL this weekend to see what kinds of other native fish might be available nearby to add to my pond now that it's nice and aged and healthy. I live about 20 miles from this location, very convenient. Here's what I found:

I netted four Etheosoma fusiforme, a Percina nigrofasciata, countless Heterandria formosa-

Attached File  2012-03-26_16-44-24_973_w.jpg   99.07KB   2 downloads