Darters, Sunfish and Topminnows

22 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_winniemagic_*

Guest_winniemagic_*
  • Guests

Posted 10 May 2012 - 02:49 PM

Hi everyone thanks for reading my post :)

I'm new to native fishes. I'm thinking about setting up at 20L. But, I'm about to start dental school. So, I was trying to create a relatively low maintenance tank. I was thinking of creating a planted tank.

I was thinking of going with Fundulus lineolatus to start. Then adding some darters. I like the look of brown darters but i'm not sure how difficult they are to care for. Then eventually working up to some Blackbanded sunfish.

I have no idea what amounts of each fish I should add.

Will native fish do will with MTS or Aquasoil? I'll be in Buffalo, NY. Will I need a heater for these fishes?

As far as plants go, I was thinking myriophyllum pinnatum but beyond that, I have no idea.

Does anyone know of any other products like this but taller? I was thinking of using CFL for lighting on this tank and I was hoping to do a few hanging fixtures. I think it would look nice. :)

Thanks for all your advice :)

#2 Guest_EricaWieser_*

Guest_EricaWieser_*
  • Guests

Posted 10 May 2012 - 03:27 PM

Will I need a heater for these fishes?

Nope.

Contrary to what some people will tell you, darters do like plants. My profile picture is currently of a female Etheostoma spectabile (orange throated darter) climbing up into Ceratophyllum demersum to hunt swordtail fry. http://gallery.nanfa...ontail.jpg.html

Myriophyllum pinnatum is a pretty cool plant. I have some in my 55 gallon Special Kitty brand kitty litter tank under four foot long Lithonia shop lights with full spectrum bulbs from Home Depot and it grows very well.

Edited by EricaWieser, 10 May 2012 - 03:33 PM.

#3 Guest_Usil_*

Guest_Usil_*
  • Guests

Posted 10 May 2012 - 03:53 PM