Pumpkinseed, SM Bass, and Perch feeding

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_tunerX_*

Guest_tunerX_*
  • Guests

Posted 24 February 2007 - 10:45 PM

I am new to NAs but not to fish keeping.

I have two Pumpkinseeds, a SM bass, and a Yellow perch. I had both Sunfish in the same tank but the bigger one always chased the smaller one so I put it in a different tank with the Perch. Also I keep both tanks stocked with African and Central American cichlids. No problems in the last 7 months as they are all about the same size 6" plus. They never fight, except for the Sunfish vs Sunfish problem. Anyway on to the question.

I feed the Sunfish/Bass/Perch the following - Jumbo Krill, Earthworms, Night crawlers, superworms, and the occasional cricket. They also eat the cichlid pellets that I toss in. Are there any problems with this combo of food? Is there anything that I should add or remove from their diets?

I feed the superworms baby rice and oatmeal flakes, along with regular oatmeal and toss in an orange or slice of watermelon. I feed the crickets vegetables and fruits before I feed them to the fish.

The bass prefers live food but will take pellets and the dead stuff.

Also, I caught these fish out of the pond on my land and was thinking about releasing them back this summer and catching a new group... Any problems with re-releasing them back into my pond?

#2 Guest_viridari_*

Guest_viridari_*
  • Guests

Posted 24 February 2007 - 11:06 PM

Also, I caught these fish out of the pond on my land and was thinking about releasing them back this summer and catching a new group... Any problems with re-releasing them back into my pond?