substrate for swamp darters and other questions

• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_celaeno_*

Guest_celaeno_*
  • Guests

Posted 28 August 2012 - 11:16 AM

hello all, i'm new to us native fish and recently acquired a few swamp darters for my 20g planted tank. i have some questions about them.

what substrate would be more suitable for swamp darters, caribsea's torpedo beach or crystal river sand? i'm looking for color contrast that would make the darters stand out more. i have black aquarium gravel now. also, do swamp darters dig?

what size do they get to? i've read 2'' but someone on aquabid told me 3.75''.

what is their life expectancy? i read 1 to 2 years.

and finally, what do i feed them? so far, i've only seen them go for frozen bbs. they have small mouths.

can i keep them at 77F long term with tropicals?

what other fish would be suitable to keep with the darters? i don't want other fish to out-compete them for food.

#2 Guest_jblaylock_*

Guest_jblaylock_*
  • Guests

Posted 28 August 2012 - 11:28 AM

I'll try to help with a few questions as I've had a swamp darter before.

Mine did fine with natural looking aquarium gravel, they won't dig. The substrate is your preference. Usually darker surroundings and bright lights help the coloration. I perfer the look of darter's natural surroundings. The swamp darter has a range of habitats, "Habitat includes slow or still waters of swamps, ponds, lakes, and streams, often over mud and detritus or near aquatic vegetation, sometimes over sand or gravel"

Size, I would say 2-2.5inches...tops
Life span, about a year
I feed all my darters frozen bloodworms and frozen brine shrimp, they love them.
Most darters prefer temps below 72. However, the swamp darter is more common in the south and they likely are tolerant of higher temps. I would acclimate them slowly and make sure they have a lot of O2.