bonjour from northern maine!

10 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_jacksmelt_*

Guest_jacksmelt_*
  • Guests

Posted 30 November 2012 - 08:05 PM

hello folks! im new to keeping fish in aquariums but hopefully with help from members on here i can get better at it. this site actually caught my attention and now im hooked. i just started my 1st tank. only 10 gal. but i already have 2 male northern red belly dace, 2 eastern banded killifish, a small white sucker and 2 bull frog tadpoles. my red bellies are already turning more red everyday! must be the warmer water and steady diet of goldfish flakes. already looking for a deal on a large tank to expand. very excited! i see how you all can get so addicted to this hobby! hope to hook up w/ some of you on a hunt sometime.

#2 Michael Wolfe

Michael Wolfe
  • Board of Directors
  • North Georgia, Oconee River Drainage

Posted 30 November 2012 - 08:21 PM

Welcome to the forum, welcome to the hobby, and welcome to NANFA! I see that you not only signed up here, but joined NANFA. That's great, I hope you jump in and learn a lot about the native fishes up in Maine.
Either write something worth reading or do something worth writing. - Benjamin Franklin

#3 Guest_jacksmelt_*

Guest_jacksmelt_*
  • Guests

Posted 02 December 2012 - 04:26 PM

im all about preserving the native fishes up here. I've always been interested in raising fish in tanks but don't believe in taking them out of their native countries. we have too many exotic invasives that have caused havoc as it is. this way i don't have too. I've already learned a ton on this site and I've just begun. thank you for the welcome and im looking forward to talking shop w/ you folks. forgive me tho. I'm not as technical or knowledgeable as a lot of you so bear with me if i ask to clarify something.

#4 Guest_FirstChAoS_*

Guest_FirstChAoS_*
  • Guests

Posted 04 December 2012 - 10:46 AM