New from the Black Hills, SD

6 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_GoFisch_*

Guest_GoFisch_*
  • Guests

Posted 12 December 2012 - 03:27 PM

Hi everyone,

I have had a deep interest in native fishes for a very long time. I majored in fisheries and aquatics at Murray State University, KY before recently moving to Belle Fourche, SD. The southeast was the ideal region for collecting and keeping native darters and cyprinids. Unfortunately, there seems to be very few small native fishes in western South Dakota. From what little info I have found, it seems that there are a few native species of chubs, long nose dace, the plains top minnow and the plains killifish. I plan on looking for them this spring. I live just minutes from the Redwater River and Belle Fourche River, but these streams seem to be mostly devoid of fish (compared to the southeast at least), other than catfish and carp.... If anyone else collects in the area or could shine some light on where to go to collect natives, I would be very grateful. Either way, I truly enjoy hearing about the collecting trips of others and seeing the fantastic photography of some of my favorite native fish.

Thanks for all who make this forum such an informative and interesting place O:)

#2 Guest_EricaWieser_*

Guest_EricaWieser_*
  • Guests

Posted 12 December 2012 - 08:38 PM

Did you know that your state has a pdf version of its "Guide to the Fishes of South Dakota" available for free?
From this website: http://gfp.sd.gov/wi...ommon-fish.aspx
Direct link: http://gfp.sd.gov/fi...ishes-lores.pdf

From browsing it, I discovered that you have pumpkinseed and orange spotted sunfish. That's awesome; I wish I had orangespotted sunfish near where I lived. Lucky :)

Edited by EricaWieser, 12 December 2012 - 08:39 PM.

#3 Guest_GoFisch_*

Guest_GoFisch_*
  • Guests

Posted 13 December 2012 - 11:44 AM