Video of Notropis chromosus fry

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_PaulH1968_*

Guest_PaulH1968_*
  • Guests

Posted 06 January 2013 - 02:01 PM

Hello all, this is my first post on this forum. I have been keeping Notropis chromosus for about 2 years now and have bred them many times.

Erica Weiser asked me to post here on my experiences with Notropis chromosus.

Here is a video of some two week old fry that I have recently bred:

Any questions please ask.

Edited by PaulH1968, 06 January 2013 - 02:02 PM.

#2 Guest_EricaWieser_*

Guest_EricaWieser_*
  • Guests

Posted 06 January 2013 - 02:31 PM

That's so awesome that you're breeding these fish! You'd be surprised at how few people have success.

What foods did you feed the parents? The fry?
What temperatures did you use to trigger the parents to spawn and for how long?
Do you have a picture of the breeding tank?

#3 Guest_PaulH1968_*

Guest_PaulH1968_*
  • Guests

Posted 06 January 2013 - 05:19 PM

What foods did you feed the parents?

The parents get live BBS twice a day just like all the fish in my fish house. They also get live grindal worm, live white worm, live micro worm, live daphnia in the summer/autumn, sometimes live blood worm when it's available, they occasionally get some dried foods red astax crumb, they sometimes get frozen artemia and bloodworm.

The fry?

Once free swimming they are very small, mine get paramecium for about a week, I add in microworm after a few days free swimming and after about a week I also add in live BBS twice a day, three or four times a day if I am not at work, I stop the paramecium once they are eating BBS. After about 2-3 weeks they start getting live grindal worm and after about 6-8 weeks they just get exactly the same as the adults. The fry get 90%+ water changes twice a day.

What temperatures did you use to trigger the parents to spawn and for how long?