Darter Temperature Experiment and Pre-Treating

• Please log in to reply
29 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_UWYO_*

Guest_UWYO_*
  • Guests

Posted 24 October 2013 - 02:21 PM

I am a grad student doing a project on the effects of warming winter temperatures on native fish reproduction in the South Platte River. One of the fish species I am looking at are Johnny Darters. We are keeping them in 20 gallon tanks and exposing them to 3 different winter scenarios: 20 degree C, 16 degree C, and 12 degree C with the same light:dark cycles they would experience from our collection area. Anywho, my initial pathology of a subset of these guys after I took them from the river is that they have Saprolegnia, likely some Ich, and a fairly large internal and external bacterial infection. I treated them with formalin, but it did not seem very effective as many died with a visible fungal infection (Saprolegnia). I am curious if anyone here pre-treats their darters for similar issues, and if it was successful. I appreciate any input or suggestions (including unrelated input about my study). I would like to have a treatment plan of action before I bring in the darters I will use for the study.
Thanks!

#2 Guest_EricaLyons_*

Guest_EricaLyons_*
  • Guests

Posted 24 October 2013 - 03:05 PM

Collection and acclimation have a lot to do with disease presentation. I've got some experience with Elassoma fuzzy-death (saprolegnia, columnaris, or some other white growth) and I've seen a dramatic difference between stressed and unstressed fish. It's funny, a fish can be totally fine but the minute the water parameters change too much for it, all of a sudden there is fuzzy death where there was none before. I've even accidentally induced symptoms in a healthy population with a 100% water change. The stress is what kills them, really.

What methods did you use to collect them? How did you transport them and how did you acclimate them to your tanks?

#3 Guest_Skipjack_*

Guest_Skipjack_*
  • Guests