Cacapon underwater videos

• Please log in to reply
45 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_tomterp_*

Guest_tomterp_*
  • Guests

Posted 31 December 2013 - 04:37 PM

Inspired in part by videos posted here, I put a mask on and plunged below the surface 3 years ago into the Cacapon River in WV, and after quite a bit of trial and error am posting the first video output.

As much a newbie as I am to underwater video, I am also a beginner level native fish hobbyist, and have a lot of trouble identifying many of the shiners and darters I encounter.

I'd appreciate any feedback I can get, and in particular, can anyone help to identify these lively cyprinids that got right up in my face this past September?

I have yet to see any other Cacapon underwater video, but if you know of any please share!

Tom

#2 Guest_tomterp_*

Guest_tomterp_*
  • Guests

Posted 31 December 2013 - 04:42 PM

Here are a couple more I've posted to youtube - a single darter (likely tessellated, but alternative suggestions welcome) and a pair. The larger one may be the same in both videos.

2 years ago I located a pod of what I believe were rainbow darters, but the spot (about 3' by 3') wasn't accessible this year at the water levels present. There was quite a nice little colony of them, can't wait to get back at them this summer with my GoPro.

#3 Guest_gerald_*

Guest_gerald_*
  • Guests

Posted 31 December 2013 - 04:58 PM

The shiners up-close are a Cyprinella species, either spotfin or satinfin (or both).
Cant get a good look at the darters but I agree that tesselated is a good guess.

#4 Guest_Skipjack_*

Guest_Skipjack_*
  • Guests

Posted 31 December 2013 - 05:31 PM

Without a good look at the darters, I cannot be sure, but the markings on the side are pretty distinct, and the head seems fairly large. Are greenside darters a possibility? Habitat leans towards greenside, but could hold tesselated. Though if this winter or spring, I would expect more color if they were greensides.