"Technical" Photos

• This topic is locked This topic is locked
25 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_gitano_*

Guest_gitano_*
  • Guests

Posted 15 January 2014 - 01:20 PM

I'm new to NANFA, so it is certainly possible that I have not been able to find an existing tutorial on photographing fish. Given that, if there is such a tutorial, might I suggest that members (and non-members alike if they are allowed to post images), be encouraged to put a scalar of some sort in their images. I appreciate the "artist nature" of some of the pictures, but there is enormous value in the morphometric data that can be extracted from these images. A simple scalar allows that data to be collected and recorded in perpetuity. It is a shame to have a fish 'in hand' and 'record the moment' and not simply add something to the image of known size that allows morphometric analysis of the image. In deference to the artistic nature of things, the scalar can be ANYTHING of KNOWN dimension. Being a scientist, my photarium has "ugly" ruling as the background. However, if a photarium is being used and the photographer has an "artistic" background, simply noting the dimension of one of the items in the background is all that is required. For example: if there was a blade of Vallisneria sp. in the background, knowing the width of that blade would be sufficient information to allow the collection of morphometric data from that image.

Here's an example of a couple of typical "technical" images collected for use by Biopar (www.biopar.com).

The first picture - Onchorhynchus mykiss - is a "field" acquired image. You will note the vertical lines spaced 1" apart.

The second picture is a hatchery acquired image of O. tshawytschia. (The vial contains a genetic sample.)

The third picture is the automatically derived mid-eye-to-fork (MEF), and fork (FL), lengths.