Collection Techniques ?

23 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_Kavin2845_*

Guest_Kavin2845_*
  • Guests

Posted 27 February 2014 - 09:26 PM

Hey guys im new to all this and was wondering what the best way to collect fish is?

I was thinking of making 2-3 2 litter soda bottle traps and setting them around my lake and checking back the next day, would that be fine or is their any better way of doing this, lake is about 2-3 min away by bicycle

thanks!

#2 Michael Wolfe

Michael Wolfe
  • Board of Directors
  • North Georgia, Oconee River Drainage

Posted 27 February 2014 - 09:46 PM

In my experience, a seine or even a dipnet, is much more effective than traps... check out the main NANFA page

http://www.nanfa.org...ollecting.shtml
Either write something worth reading or do something worth writing. - Benjamin Franklin

#3 Guest_Kavin2845_*

Guest_Kavin2845_*
  • Guests

Posted 27 February 2014 - 10:02 PM

In my experience, a seine or even a dipnet, is much more effective than traps... check out the main NANFA page

http://www.nanfa.org...ollecting.shtml

wouldn't moving around in the water and kicking up debris scare off fish?

Edited by Kavin2845, 27 February 2014 - 10:03 PM.

#4 Guest_gerald_*

Guest_gerald_*
  • Guests

Posted 27 February 2014 - 11:54 PM

Many of the fish that do best in aquariums are those that hide in plant beds, leaves, under logs, etc. They dash for cover when spooked, but dont go too far, so you can still net them by scooping into plants and leaves or turning over logs and rocks. For open-water fish that flee but dont dash under nearby cover, yes you might scare them away. You learn different techniques for different fish.

#5 Guest_Skipjack_*

Guest_Skipjack_*
  • Guests

Posted 27 February 2014 - 11:55 PM