Darter Feeding Question

• Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#1 Sean Phillips

Sean Phillips
  • NANFA Member
  • Allegheny River Drainage, Southwest PA

Posted 09 June 2014 - 10:00 AM

Picked myself up a green sunfish and a pair of greenside darters the other day on a collecting trip and since I'm new to natives I'm not sure what the best food for them (specifically the darters) would be. I've been feeding either live brine shrimp or frozen bloodworms for the past week or so and at this point I'm going to try to get them on to just frozen with live only once in a while. Is there anything else I should be feeding them for variety such as greener foods or are they fine with bloodworms and brine shrimp as their entire diet? Also, I know this is under darters but just as a quick question when should I be starting the sunfish (or darters if applicable) onto dry foods?
Sean Phillips - Pine Creek Watershed - Allegheny River Drainage

#2 Guest_Sunfish catcher 321_*

Guest_Sunfish catcher 321_*
  • Guests

Posted 09 June 2014 - 10:07 AM

Sunfish usually will eat prepared food.

#3 Guest_Erica Lyons_*

Guest_Erica Lyons_*
  • Guests

Posted 09 June 2014 - 11:03 AM

Please read this previous discussion: http://forum.nanfa.o...-throat-darters
This one's also on the same topic: http://forum.nanfa.o...nd-flake-foods/
and this one: http://forum.nanfa.o...eeding-darters/

#4 Guest_NotCousteau_*

Guest_NotCousteau_*
  • Guests

Posted 09 June 2014 - 12:17 PM

I'm new to darters myself and am no expert, but it sounds like you're off to a great start. I feed my rainbow and Iowa darters frozen bloodworms, brine shrimp, daphnia and vegetable matter. I bought one of those four-packs at the pet store that contain: just frozen bloodworms, just frozen brine shrimp and then two mixed batches of different foods. (Sorry; I do not have the package in front of me now.)

Darters seem like largely insect and microcrustacean feeders, from what I've read online.