Help! 150 Gallon Classroom Tank

26 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_MrPierce_*

Guest_MrPierce_*
  • Guests

Posted 01 July 2014 - 01:22 PM

Good afternoon,

I am a 3rd grade teacher in south central Pennsylvania (outside of Harrisburg) and I "inherited" the responsibility of our school aquarium when my principal retired. I am completely new to aquariums and native fish, but I am an avid outdoorsman and incorporate environmental education whenever possible. Due to my lack of experience, please forgive any ignorance in this, or following, posts. I am doing a lot of research for the coming year, but I have discovered that native fish keeping is a whole new world!

The tank that I will be keeping is 150 gallons, and currently holds an assortment of salt water fish. The fish are going to new homes this week, and I can begin the process of transitioning the tank to freshwater. My goal is to have the tank serve as many educational opportunities as possible, with as little maintenance work (small wishes, I know). Some opportunities that I already have in mind will be: basic fish anatomy (names of fins and things), schooling behavior, environmental interactions, feeding behavior, water testing, and maintenance. Making all of these into writing/project based learning opportunities is my goal.

Where I need help is what to put into the tank. I know that this is an extremely open ended question, and I wish that I could narrow it down but unfortunately at this point I simply do not have the knowledge to do so. I am not opposed to a planted tank, but I'm not sure how much work that would entail. I live near several lively bodies of water and I have thought about collecting on my own, so any suggestions on these processes would be greatly appreciated.

Information that you may need, that I currently can't provide (sorry, I'll try to learn more about the tank): filter size/type, dimensions, available budget.