3D background projects.

• Please log in to reply
38 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_cjohns_*

Guest_cjohns_*
  • Guests

Posted 14 July 2014 - 08:31 PM

So I recently decided to make a 3D background for my 72 gallon bow front. I picked up a 20 gallon long this weekend so I would have a place to hold my fish while I started my project. Being that I have never tried this before I thought it would be a good idea to practice with the 20 L. I did not want to stack several layers on top of each other the whole length of the tank like a lot of people have done. It looks great but seem to take up a lot of area in the aquarium. So i did it a little different. It's not fished yet. I still have to add color and another coat tomorrow.

Cut a solid piece of green guard from lowes the size of the back glass
Attached File  20140713_151658.jpg   102.05KB   4 downloads

Then used silicone to layer a few spots by stacking foam
Attached File  20140713_162053.jpg   119.17KB   7 downloads

Shaped it with a sanding disk on a grinder and a propane torch.Attached File  20140714_164010.jpeg   152.6KB   4 downloads

Added concrete
Attached File  20140714_172512.jpeg   94.02KB   1 downloads

Started to dry grey. I will add color in tomorrow. I am fairly happy with the way it's going so far. I should have shaped some areas a little different (maybe smoother) but that's why I'm practicing. I will post this finished project and the 72 gallon when i start it.

Attached Files

#2 Guest_shaft6977_*

Guest_shaft6977_*
  • Guests

Posted 14 July 2014 - 10:06 PM

Looks good! What would you say was the total cost of the materials?

#3 Guest_NotCousteau_*

Guest_NotCousteau_*
  • Guests

Posted 14 July 2014 - 10:15 PM

Looks good! Keep us posted on your progress.

#4 Guest_keepnatives_*

Guest_keepnatives_*
  • Guests

Posted 14 July 2014 - 10:20 PM

That looks great already, don't think you need any practice. You may have motivated me to finally try one myself.

#5 Guest_Skipjack_*

Guest_Skipjack_*