Stocking plans?

10 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_herpwhisperer_*

Guest_herpwhisperer_*
  • Guests

Posted 01 September 2014 - 10:15 AM

Hey guys, new here but I have kept tropical and done some relatively good research on natives. My tank will be either a 20 long, a 10 , or a 30. I really like darters, but I know they might be a little too difficult so I'm willing to wait until I have some experience with natives. I also want to collect my own animals so I also have to consider that. I do have Blacknose dace in my area (northern VA) that I really enjoy, along with many other larger minnow species that I have not identified yet. Suggestions and advice are welcome, as I am not very knowledgeable but I really enjoy natives even though I do not personally have any. Thanks!

#2 Michael Wolfe

Michael Wolfe
  • Board of Directors
  • North Georgia, Oconee River Drainage

Posted 01 September 2014 - 10:50 AM

Blacknose dace are really hardy and a good start into natives in my opinion. Sounds like you are willing to do some reading and getting to know your fish first, that is great. Based on that, I would only have two pieces of advice for you;
  • dace are typically small stream fish and as you might read here (by using the search function and looking around) they are prone to jumping, so get a good tank cover or DIY yourself a fence of some sort to help keep them in the tank :biggrin:
  • wait until the fall to collect. heat stress is particularly harsh on cold water small stream fishes and they can be in pretty bad shape this time of year. they will be healthier and live longer if you collect smaller individuals in the cooler weather.
Welcome to the forum, and consider joining NANFA. Take a look at our main webpage over at www.nanfa.org
Either write something worth reading or do something worth writing. - Benjamin Franklin

#3 Guest_herpwhisperer_*

Guest_herpwhisperer_*
  • Guests

Posted 01 September 2014 - 07:51 PM