Help Stocking a Quarry

• Please log in to reply
83 replies to this topic

#1 Sean Phillips

Sean Phillips
  • NANFA Member
  • Allegheny River Drainage, Southwest PA

Posted 28 March 2015 - 11:36 AM

Wasn't sure where to put this so I figured this would be as good a place as any. Getting to my point, I've been discussing this with my local scuba club for several months now and I finally have everyone's approval, including the owner of the quarry. We dive at a local quarry that's about an hour north of us in western PA. This quarry is privately owned and the only people that aren't divers that get in are the Amish to catch their food and some local rednecks that know the woods well enough to get around all the gates.

The volume of surface water in this quarry is approximately 20 acres. The water is very clean and cool and fluctuates in temperature seasonaly from 32 to about 74 at the surface. The bottom normally stays between 36-58. The maximum depth of it is about 33 feet at the very lowest point with most areas staying between 5-20 feet. Visibility is very good, ranging on average from 5-20 feet. The lowest I've ever seen it was 1 foot after vicious storms and the best I've see it has been 50 feet. The substrate varies from a dirty sand and gravel mix close to shore to a thick layer of silt on the bottom of most of the quarry as you get past the largest weedline. There is also tons and tons of vegetation in the quarry, most of it is actually a very attractive color compared to most of the aquatic weeds you'd see growing in a lake or quarry.