Greetings from Albany, NY

11 replies to this topic

#1 Aquastudent

Aquastudent
  • NANFA Guest
  • Albany, NY

Posted 09 April 2015 - 07:28 AM

Hello fellow fishkeepers,

My name is Tony. I'm a graduate student at SUNY Albany persuing a Ph.D. in physics. I started my fishkeeping obsession my Sophomore year of undergrad. It began with a 10 gallon betta planted aquarium and quickly infected the rest of my residence. My biology is rudimentary but I love blending my knowledge of physics and chemistry with the unknowns of biology.

5ae432e22b47f170d57939a27e922b98.jpg

I have my most experience keeping African cichlids. Over the past couple years I've grown up a fairly prolific breeding colony of Labidochromis caeruleus (Yellow Lab Cichlids). They breed like rabbits and the parenting behavior of cichlids is so much fun to watch.

One of my other favorite things about this hobby is it blends science with art. I'm not an artistic person but I do get to experiment with some creative projects through aquariums. A few years ago I built an underwater LED volcano. I used a 555 timer, red and yellow LEDs, and a potentiometer to dial in various frequencies of the flashing light. It really looked like magma bubbling up from under the rockwork. Another fun project involved building a foam and concrete background/aquascape for my 55G African cichlid tank. That made a HUGE mess but boy was it a fun project.

Here are some FTS of my aquariums (they're all at least a couple months old but you get the idea).

55G African Cichlid Tank

DSC_0579_zps1bf4704b.jpg

Inhabitants: Metriaclima elongatus (sp. Chewere and sp. Mphanga), Labidochromis Caeruleus, Synodontis eupterus, and an Aulonocara.

29G SA Community

DSC_0076_zps0aedb563.jpg

This photo is about a year old and the stocking has changed but the idea is still there.

135G SA Cichlids

DSC_0541_zps91328f3a.jpg