Photo

Darters & Shiners, feeding problems?

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 loopsnj64

loopsnj64
  • NANFA Guest

Posted 18 May 2015 - 01:36 PM

I am new to keeping natives (but fairly experienced with tropical fish) i have a 30 gallon tank that i plan to keep captive bred orange throat darters and shiners (which i will go and catch, quarantined for disease of course), now i recall reading that in a situation like this, the shiners will greedily eat any food before it gets low enough for the darters to eat, so what would i do for this, i know that feeding them different food would work, until the shiners get a taste for the darters food.

"All good things must come to an end, but bad things think thats rather dull, so they stick around long after their natural end has come"

-From an art book I read

#2 Michael Wolfe

Michael Wolfe
  • Board of Directors
  • North Georgia, Oconee River Drainage

Posted 18 May 2015 - 02:28 PM

Flake first at the surface for greedy shiners. Then dump in thawed frozen to send it quickly to the bottom.

Some folks also try to mix flake with a feeding tube for the darters. Really anything to get the food down to them while the shiners are distracted.
Either write something worth reading or do something worth writing. - Benjamin Franklin

#3 mattknepley

mattknepley
  • NANFA Member
  • Smack-dab between the Savannah and the Saluda.

Posted 19 May 2015 - 03:56 AM