New to NANFA Forum

5 replies to this topic

#1 Slavo

Slavo
  • NANFA Guest
  • North Arlington, New Jersey

Posted 16 July 2015 - 01:55 PM

Hello Everyone,

I'm new to the NANFA Forum. I've been keeping fish since childhood and have been in the planted tank/aquascaping scene for about 3 years.

I'm currently a member of Aquarium Advice and a member/chairman of NJAGC (New Jersey Aquatic Gardeners Club).

I have never kept native fish before, but of late (past year) have been very interested in keeping Elassoma gilberti.

I have since contacted an online retailer where I will most likely be purchasing them, along with Heterandria Formosa.

#2 loopsnj64

loopsnj64
  • NANFA Guest

Posted 16 July 2015 - 03:42 PM

Welcome to the forum, I can tell you that Elassoma gilberti and Heterandria Formosa are like tropical fish in almost every aspect (with the exception of the no-heater rule), actually, now that i think about it, unless your keeping far-north cold water species (sculpin, trout etc.), most natives can be kept like, or even with, tropical fish (assuming the tropicals tolerate room temp)

You are probably aware of this but I'm just going to warn you that Blackbanded, Bluespotted, Banded and Mud Sunfish cannot be collected or possessed in NJ, i was going to collect them but found this out at the last minute.

Well if you prepare correctly, collecting wild fish can be just as, or heck, far more rewarding then buying fish, best equipment to use would be a 10-foot seine, a dip net and waders

Edited by loopsnj64, 16 July 2015 - 03:44 PM.

"All good things must come to an end, but bad things think thats rather dull, so they stick around long after their natural end has come"

-From an art book I read

#3 mattknepley

mattknepley
  • NANFA Member
  • Smack-dab between the Savannah and the Saluda.

Posted 16 July 2015 - 08:03 PM

Welcome aboard, Slavo!