Photo

Need help with a shiner/minnow ID

• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 DPFW

DPFW
  • NANFA Guest

Posted 31 July 2015 - 01:59 PM

I was sampling in a stream in MA yesterday and caught a whole bunch of these minnows/shiners.  I attached three pictures of three different individuals (1248 is of the largest individual that I caught, the other two are more representative of the size I caught; for a size reference, the fish is on a 1 mm x 1 mm grid background).  I'm hoping someone can help me ID them because I'm not very good with my Cyprinids. 

I think all three are of the same species, but I'm not 100% certain of that.  At first when I looked at them I thought it might either be a Common shiner or a Bluntnose minnow.  But the body looks too compressed (not deep enough) to be a Common shiner but the mouth angle doesn't look right for Bluntnose.  So then I thought it might be a Spottail shiner, but I didn't see a very obvious spot on the tail (I have never seen them in the wild before, so maybe that spot isn't as obvious as the pictures on the internet make it seem?)

If it helps, according my state's Division of Fisheries and Wildlife, we have the following Cyprinids around here:  Common shiner, Golden shiner, Bridle shiner, Spottail shiner, Bluntnose minnow, Fathead minnow, Creek chub, and Fallfish.

I would appreciate any help anyone can give.  Thanks! 

Attached Files

#2 DPFW

DPFW
  • NANFA Guest

Posted 31 July 2015 - 02:07 PM

oops, sorry, I just realized the images uploaded without the image numbers attached.  The top image is the larger one that I referred to.

#3 Matt DeLaVega

Matt DeLaVega
  • Forum Staff
  • Ohio

Posted 31 July 2015 - 03:18 PM

I feel confident ruling out bluntnose minnow on all three, as well as bridle shiner, Fathead minnow, Creek chub, and Fallfish. So dump those and see what you come up with.

The member formerly known as Skipjack

#4 gerald

gerald
  • Global Moderator
  • Wake Forest, North Carolina