Clemson/Greenville SC

13 replies to this topic

#1 pitt20

pitt20
  • NANFA Guest
  • SC

Posted 15 November 2015 - 03:37 PM

Hello,

I'm new to the form. What kinds of fish species are found around the Clemson, SC area? I am considering Clemson for my undergrad degree and when I go to tour I would like to get acquainted with the local waterways. What fish can I expect to find and what kind of habitat would I be looking in? When I drove to tour Wake Forest and the University of Florida I vaguely recall some swamps in western SC (?) as we passed through but I'm aware there are probably mountain streams in the area. Plus Lake Hartwell is right on campus. 

Thanks for any input. 

#2 gerald

gerald
  • Global Moderator
  • Wake Forest, North Carolina

Posted 15 November 2015 - 07:37 PM

Colleges really ought to post that information prominently in their "about" section, dont ya think?  Aquatic biodiversity was certainly a make-or-break critrion in my college selection.   There's some beauties in western SC, and several NANFA members in that area.  See FishMap.org

Gerald Pottern
-----------------------
Hangin' on the Neuse
"Taxonomy is the diaper used to organize the mess of evolution into discrete packages" - M.Sandel

#3 Dustin

Dustin
  • Forum Staff

Posted 16 November 2015 - 09:04 AM

Hi,

While there are some seeps in the area, there aren't a lot of swamps.  There are mostly piedmont and blue ridge streams up there.  There are tons of great fish in the area.  Some highlights include:

Fieryblack shiner

Whitefin shiner

Whitetail shiner

Warpaint shiner

Yellowfin shiner

Rosyface chub

Thicklip chub

Rosyside dace

Bluehead chub

Seagreen darter

Turquoise darter

We have an active regional rep up in the area that would love to have someone local to get out with.

Dustin Smith
At the convergence of the Broad, Saluda and Congaree
Lexington, SC

#4 mattknepley

mattknepley
  • NANFA Member
  • Smack-dab between the Savannah and the Saluda.