Photo

Illinois Native Aquarium

33 replies to this topic

#1 thedood

thedood
  • NANFA Member
  • Illinois

Posted 10 March 2016 - 01:05 PM

Hello and thanks in advance for viewing. I am interested in creating a native aquarium. My first thought has been Cache River Cypress Swamp, however I am also looking at other areas. Two areas that are the the Kaskaskia  and Embarrass rivers.

My main interest is planted tanks. So my question is in the rivers I mentioned are there areas that are heavy with submersed plants? If so where are these areas and where can I find a list of plants? If you have suggestions that would be awesome. I am also looking for fish species that favor planted areas. I am interested in collecting as much as I can myself (I have never done this before) within the bounds of ethics and the law but will purchase what I cannot collect. 

My tank specs right now to start and learn is a 20H. I need to figure out a stocking list so I can purchase hardware if necessary. I do already have a sponge filter and airpump if that is all I need. I also have a powerhead available. Any equipment recommendations for an recommended species would be appreciated as well.

Thanks again for reading and taking the time to reply if you plan on doing so.

Edited by thedood, 10 March 2016 - 01:11 PM.

#2 Michael Wolfe

Michael Wolfe
  • Board of Directors
  • North Georgia, Oconee River Drainage

Posted 10 March 2016 - 02:34 PM

I'm not going to be any help with your local fish, but I want to commend you for not only going native, but going local as well!

Knowing your local fish first can be a great way to get into this hobby... and getting out into the habitat is a GREAT idea.

I'm sure some other folks from you part of the country will chime in and offer you real help, I will just say way to go!

Either write something worth reading or do something worth writing. - Benjamin Franklin

#3 thedood

thedood
  • NANFA Member
  • Illinois

Posted 10 March 2016 - 02:53 PM