Photo

Keeping lily size in check?

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 Joshaeus

Joshaeus
  • NANFA Guest

Posted 18 March 2016 - 07:32 AM

'ello all! I am planning to set up a water garden this year and would love it if all the plants heralded from my home state, Maine. Sadly, the two lilies that grow here - Nymphaea odorata and Nuphar Lutea - typically grow far too large for the 28 inch diameter stock tank I am going to be using. Is there any way to keep these plants smaller and more manageable than their normal 6 foot diameter size?

#2 Mrfipp

Mrfipp
  • NANFA Guest
  • Runaway Bay, Texas

Posted 18 March 2016 - 09:05 AM

Let me preface this response with "I've zero firsthand experience with this plant" and I'm not claiming to be an expert but I have had success with similar techniques on other plants, not this plant.

In theory, you could remove the leaves repeatedly. Hear me out, I'm not just saying "keep it pruned." (Though that may in fact work...)

In terrestrial plants, when a leaf is removed it is replaced by a second leaf. The second leaf that grows in remains smaller. The third is again smaller. This principle is utilized in bonsai regularly to make small trees and their leaves look properly proportioned so that something small scale looks like it could be a giant.

Here is where a professional botanist would be useful... In theory that could also apply to aquatic plants, and as you remove leaves from the bulb/rhiozome/stem the successive plant growth may be proportional but stunted.

If you have a plant, you may give it a go. You could also google "aquarium plant pruning" and find some helpful sites and blogs I won't link here because that seems to get people fired up...

Good luck, and I'd love to see photos of your project.

Mrfipp
There's something fishy about this place...

#3 Michael Wolfe

Michael Wolfe
  • Board of Directors
  • North Georgia, Oconee River Drainage

Posted 18 March 2016 - 10:57 AM