Photo

Info on how to catch Madtoms

21 replies to this topic

#1 taldridge0321

taldridge0321
  • NANFA Member
  • Pigeon Watershed, North Carolina

Posted 16 July 2016 - 06:51 PM

I'm interested in catching Madtoms around my area, Waxhaw/Charlotte, NC area. I think we have about four species of Madtoms in this area and am curious about techniques used to catch them.

I would appreciate any info you fellas have.

Thanks,

Tim Aldridge

Semper fi

#2 damias

damias
  • NANFA Guest
  • Charlotte/Raleigh, NC

Posted 16 July 2016 - 08:28 PM

I'm no expert on catching them, but I believe the way most do it is with a dipnet and flipping rocks to scare them out.

I'm also in the Charlotte area and I plan to do a few 'trips' soon looking for topminnows.

#3 Casper

Casper
  • NANFA Fellow
  • Chattanooga, TN alongside South Chickamauga Creek, just upstream of the mighty Tennessee River.

Posted 17 July 2016 - 10:46 AM

Pop Bottles, Beer Cans.

Casper Cox
Chattanooga, near the TN Divide on BlueFishRidge overlooking South Chickamauga Creek.

#4 fundulus

fundulus
  • Global Moderator

Posted 17 July 2016 - 12:32 PM

Casper's right, using bottles and cans left overnight along the bank will often trap them, they love hidey holes.
Bruce Stallsmith, Huntsville, Alabama, US of A

#5 Dustin

Dustin
  • Forum Staff

Posted 18 July 2016 - 07:56 AM

The most common madtom up your way is the margined madtom and they prefer to be in small to medium sized stream under rocks in the current.  The best way to catch them is to kick seine.  Given the fact that you may be doing this alone, putting your dipnet flush with the bottom on the downstream side of a nice rock and then kicking and turning the rock towards the dipnet also works.