Photo

Toss Back Tuesday Salmonid Help, Please

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 mattknepley

mattknepley
  • NANFA Member
  • Smack-dab between the Savannah and the Saluda.

Posted 30 August 2016 - 05:37 AM

A little bit ago when Ben had his Throw-back Thursday pics going, I was trying to find the following picture. It finally turned up.

Attached File  sunysalmon.jpeg   180.57KB   0 downloads

Yup, that's yours' truly, in all my studliness, in the Fall of 1987 or the Spring of 1988. At the time I was a freshman at State University of New York at Oswego. My dorm was right on the shore of Lake Ontario! One day several of us were down at the water and saw a few large fish doing their darnedest to swim over the rocky flats and into a dried feeder channel/drainage ditch kind of thing. I can only assume they were trying to go upstream to spawn... Figuring the weren't long for the world anyway, I wrastled one out of the water for a photo-op.

Unfortunately, this is the only picture I have from the encounter. I have always thought the fish was an Atlantic Salmon, but am curious if I am right. The head and caudal sure look like an Atlantic, but the location of the anal fin relative to the caudal, and the over-all beefy build of the creature looks more Brown Troutish to me. The fish is definitely in breeding mode, as the cascading stream of fish-stuff puddling at my feet attests. It is my understanding Atlantic Salmon take on a dark coloration like this when spawning.

But my best guess now is a Chinook Salmon. They have been stocked in the lake, and the jaw, head, color, caudal, build and nutty behavior all seem right.

So, whatcha think, Atlantic Salmon or Brown Trout, or Chinook?
Matt Knepley
"No thanks, a third of a gopher would merely arouse my appetite..."

#2 smbass

smbass
  • Board of Directors

Posted 17 September 2016 - 10:58 AM