Photo

Lucania parva eggs

13 replies to this topic

#1 lilyea

lilyea
  • NANFA Member
  • Peace River Watershed, Central Florida, USA

Posted 02 November 2016 - 07:53 PM

This evening I pulled about 20 eggs from the spawning mop in my Lucania parva tank.  I have limited experience with this species (or any salt/brackish killies), but have bred a number of freshwater mop-spawning killies using both damp- and water-spawning methods.  I am looking for any advice on the best approach to hatching the parva eggs and then raising the fry.  Currently they are in a full-saltwater tank.  TIA

#2 mattknepley

mattknepley
  • NANFA Member
  • Smack-dab between the Savannah and the Saluda.

Posted 02 November 2016 - 07:57 PM

No insights here for you, but congratulations on the spawn and I hope all goes well with their development.
Matt Knepley
"No thanks, a third of a gopher would merely arouse my appetite..."

#3 lilyea

lilyea
  • NANFA Member

Posted 04 November 2016 - 07:19 PM

Thanks Matt.  I used a standard killifish spawning mop of 120 strands of green yard hanging from a craft styrofoam ball.  Based on the limited information on the internet about breeding parva, it appears that the eggs will hatch in about six days and then have a few more days for the fry to be sustained by their yolk sacs before I will need to provide some type of micro first foods (if they make it that far).  I currently have the eggs in a small dish and will do water changes with tank water on regular basis until hatch.  In future iterations I may use new saltwater instead of tank water for the eggs and will also try damp incubation to see what works best for me with this species.  I will also watch for wide spread fungus on the eggs and use an additive if necessary in future attempts.

#4 gerald

gerald
  • Global Moderator
  • Wake Forest, North Carolina

Posted 05 November 2016 - 09:20 AM