Photo

South Carolina Collecting Tips

9 replies to this topic

#1 pitt20

pitt20
  • NANFA Guest
  • SC

Posted 01 January 2017 - 04:11 PM

Hey y'all, I'm a freshman at Clemson and I'm looking to put some native fish in a tank in my dorm. I bought a betta to use as a sort of test run to see how easy it'd be to take care of fish in the dorm. I'm looking to get out and collect the second semester and I'm interested in keeping blackbanded sunfish or bluefin killifish. If anyone knows of any locations that I could reliably collect either species I'd love to hear them. Thanks!

#2 Matt DeLaVega

Matt DeLaVega
  • Forum Staff
  • Ohio

Posted 01 January 2017 - 05:01 PM

Dustin, Fritz,and Matt K. can probably steer you right. Nice to see that you test the water before jumping in. Not knocking blackbanded sunfish at all, but I have found bluefin killifish very fun and easy to spawn. I did so in a bare bottom tank with a lot of hornwort. Basement temperatures and just a 14 hour light cycle. Used some live food. Have only kept a single blackbanded sunfish. It was a nice addition to a smaller community tank. Striking species for sure.

Good luck, and welcome to the forum. Check out the website, and if you like our mission, consider joining and supporting our grants and web presence.

The member formerly known as Skipjack

#3 Michael Wolfe

Michael Wolfe
  • Board of Directors
  • North Georgia, Oconee River Drainage

Posted 01 January 2017 - 11:58 PM

Welcome pitt20.  There are lots of people that might be interested in getting out in the water with you.  I'm over in the Athens, GA area and we get over that way every once in a while.  We even have a few members that are Clemson grads and have some experience with the local fishes.

Either write something worth reading or do something worth writing. - Benjamin Franklin

#4 taldridge0321

taldridge0321
  • NANFA Member
  • Pigeon Watershed, North Carolina

Posted 02 January 2017 - 08:35 AM