New to Native fish keeping.

3 replies to this topic

#1 Warhawk

Warhawk
  • NANFA Guest
  • Fort Wayne IN

Posted 02 March 2017 - 02:07 PM

Hello everyone,

I'm not new to keeping fish I have 10+ years of experience with aquariums but I got kinda serious about 7 years or so. Like most fish keepers that has been doing this a while I have keep most of the common fish, few not so common and even some CARE fish over the years. One of my favorite fish is the simple guppy, nice colors, easy to keep and great fun to watch in a tank. I currently have a tank of Poecilia minma(started with F1s) and they are quickly becoming one of my top 5 fish. My current fish room has 36 tanks ranging from 150g down to 5.5g, not all of them currently have fish and some are just for fry/grow out tanks. Currently I'm re working the room to get the most use out of my limited space, then thinking about expanding it toward the end of the year.

I have always like the small native fish they just looked very interesting. I always watched for NA fish when at fish stores or club auctions but nothing really caught my eye. Until I was watching Fish videos on Youtube this morning and the video was talking about commonly over looked fish in the hobby. It listed the Pygmy Sunfish which got me searching for them and I found this site.

Then started thinking about my room and what I'm doing to change it up, I could set aside 3-4 tanks just for NA fish. This got to thinking about where to get fish so I hit the" free auction site for fish"(not sure if we can tag the site or not) and while I haven't order from them I do see some "Darters" never heard of those but I need some. :D/  

So hoping to learn more about the NA Native fish and in the next few months get some tanks setup. Plus with years of fish keeping experience I might be of some help to others.

Okay enough about me time to go read some treads.

#2 Chasmodes

Chasmodes
  • NANFA Member
  • Central Maryland

Posted 02 March 2017 - 04:46 PM