Photo

Stocking 125 gallon MA community tank

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 pdmoroark

pdmoroark
  • NANFA Guest

Posted 22 June 2017 - 11:34 AM

Hello all! I'm in charge of captive animal care at the nature center I work at, and in the last year the organization decided we ought to have a native species freshwater community tank. I've got lots of experience with animal care in general and a moderate amount of experience with aquaria, but this large community tank is new territory for me.

I've currently got 9 common shiners in a 125 gallon aquarium. The shiners are roughly 6 or 7 inches long. There's large wood pieces and a variety of artificial plants (I've never done a planted aquarium... one step at a time!). I wouldn't characterize it as a stream tank, but there is current driven by a powerhead.

I'd like to add more fish of different species, but I don't know which species would be good tank mates with the shiners and each other. I'm also limited to species that can be found in Massachusetts.

Suggestions?

#2 Michael Wolfe

Michael Wolfe
  • Board of Directors
  • North Georgia, Oconee River Drainage

Posted 22 June 2017 - 12:09 PM