Photo

Prescription masks this cheap really any good?

10 replies to this topic

#1 mattknepley

mattknepley
  • NANFA Member
  • Smack-dab between the Savannah and the Saluda.

Posted 01 November 2017 - 06:13 AM

Now that I've commandeered and eaten any and all of my daughter's Halloween candy worth unwrapping, I have time to think over the upcoming Thanksgiving and Christmas holidays. I found these masks

https://www.amazon.c...9c626c453bf70f5

and wonder if they're any good. The price seems too good to be true to this total noob.

I assume I'll have to settle for an "almost" prescription as it appears the lenses are stock and not custom. But for the forty clams and the handful of uses these things would likely get all year that'd be alright. If this snorkel bug should set hold to me then maybe I'd consider pricier options.
Matt Knepley
"No thanks, a third of a gopher would merely arouse my appetite..."

#2 littlen

littlen
  • NANFA Member
  • Washington, D.C.

Posted 01 November 2017 - 06:29 AM

You're not getting, old....are you, Matt?  I can't speak for masks and prescription lenses, but is Lasik an option!?  I've been fortunate to have good vision and spend my money on pricey dive masks that fit well.  Having a cold face is one thing, but not having a mask that smashes my nose or pinches the bridge is worth it.  So unless I'm buying an exact replacement, I always go into a dive shop to try on new masks to make sure they fit well and are comfortable.

Nick L.

#3 trygon

trygon
  • NANFA Member
  • Knoxville, Tennessee

Posted 01 November 2017 - 07:25 AM

As Nick said fit is the primary consideration.  I wear contact when I dive/snorkel, but I've heard that for some people it's a problem.  Here are a couple of links you might find interesting:  https://www.scubaboard.com/community/threads/prescription-masks.551869/     and   https://www.seavisionusa.com/site/index    .

Bryce Gibson
There are sharks in every ocean...except Billy Ocean.

#4 Casper

Casper