When do you start collecting?

10 replies to this topic

#1 elting44

elting44
  • Regional Rep
  • Salina, KS

Posted 07 February 2018 - 04:01 PM

Good afternoon, 

I am new to NANFA and was wondering what time of year do you start dipnetting / microfishing.

I live in north central kansas and was wondering when you guys start in your neck of the woods.  In my experience from sport fishing, panfishing can be hit or miss while it is this cold and the fishing are still holed up.  I may go out starting the first week in march, but I want to know if I should be scouting locations and not wasting time trying to collect until it warms up more

Also, I dont see a lot of discussion on cast netting for collecting, particularly for sunfish.  In Kansas I believe it is legal to cast net for bluegill and other sunfish species, and they can be take from the body of water as long as it isn't designated Aquatic Nuisance Species body of water.  Is cast netting frowned upon because it is too stressful on the fish?

thanks

Tyler Elting -  Intersection of the Saline, Smoky Hill and Solomon Rivers, Kansas
"Follow me, and I will make you fishers of men" -Matthew 4:19

#2 ShadetreeIchthyologist

ShadetreeIchthyologist
  • Regional Rep
  • Charleston SC

Posted 07 February 2018 - 04:13 PM

I haven't stopped collecting this winter with my seine net. I've been somewhat successful with darters, dace, and sculpins. I plan to go this weekend and get some redhorse If you have waders and cabin fever why not try your local waters? When the weather warms up just a few degrees and it's sunny the small fish get pretty active.

"Amateurs can potentially make valuable contributions to our knowledge of fishes". - Etnier and Starnes

#3 Dustin

Dustin
  • Forum Staff

Posted 07 February 2018 - 04:19 PM

In SC, we don't stop.

Dustin Smith
At the convergence of the Broad, Saluda and Congaree
Lexington, SC

#4 MtFallsTodd

MtFallsTodd
  • NANFA Member
  • Mountain Falls, Virginia