• Please log in to reply
32 replies to this topic

#1 elting44

elting44
  • Regional Rep
  • Salina, KS

Posted 23 February 2018 - 12:42 PM

Hello NANFA,

I thought I would share some information and pictures of the my process of building my 135g tank that will house some Kansas natives.

My goal is to inspire folks who may think they don't have the skills required for a project like this.  Trust me.  You do.  I am a computer nerd by trade with relatively no prior construction experience.  Just a passion for aquariums and research coupled with a lack of fear and common sense.

I purchased the aquarium a few years ago from a craigslist ad in Greeley, CO.  It is a Oceanic Dual Overflow 72" x 18" x 25" 135 gallon.  The price ( $90 ) justified the 12+ hour round trip from north-central Kansas.  The midwest can be a desert for large aquariums, but every once in a while a deal will pop up.  The pictures in the ad looked good, the previous owner said there were no issues with it, but for that price I was expecting the aquarium to be pretty rough.  Turned out it was nearly pristine, the only work it needed was new silicone seal on the left overflow.  Turned out the owner had a stand for the 135 and a 90 gallon aquarium that myself and my father respectively purchased happily. 

135g:

Attached File  135 Start.jpg   275.55KB   5 downloads

The tank has sat in the basement of my old house, waiting for my family and I to move into our new home, which we did July of last year.

This project started on Jan 5th. I decided since I didn't have a lid/canopy for the tank and would be building one myself, I should paint the stand black, since it would be easier to match the canopy to it.

I removed the doors from the stand and hit them with 3-4 coats of satin black Krylon Dual Superbond.

Stand and Doors (before):

Attached File  StandStart.jpg   90.71KB   5 downloads

Attached File  StandDoorsPrepaint.jpg   212.17KB   4 downloads

(after):