Advice for 39g SC natives set-up

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 ccoyle

ccoyle
  • NANFA Guest
  • Taylors, SC

Posted 06 March 2018 - 03:33 PM

Hello, all. Our office just received a donation of a 39-gallon bow-front tank that I would like to set up for native fish. My main issue with natives is that they are not cichlids; I have a lot of experience with the latter, but not the former. So, I'm starting off with some assumptions and ideas which may or may not be valid -- please feel free to chime in with corrections and/or recommendations.

> First, is there any recommended literature on this subject that I might obtain through my local library?

> Our ambient air temperature in the office is probably between 65 and 75 F. I know this is in the spawning range of some natives, and I hope their metabolism and behavior won't be overtaxed at this temperature range?

> I'd like to start off with local fish I can collect myself from creeks in the area. I assume these fish would appreciate some flow in their tank? With that in mind, I'm considering what sort of filtration to use. Under-gravel with power head? Internal canister or powered foam?

> The tank will be near a northeast-facing window that only gets a little bit of direct sunlight in the early morning. I don't expect this to be a problem.

> As I mentioned in another thread, I have collected creek chubs (which don't seem very attractive) and greenhead shiners in the creek behind my house and have observed green sunfish there as well; this is a tributary of Brushy Creek in Taylors. Any recommendations on other suitable local species and good places to collect them in the Greenville-Spartanburg area?

> Any problems weaning any of these species onto staple flakes or pellets? Best to collect them as juveniles for this purpose?

> I'll have to use Greenville's local water, and I believe they use chloramines, so I'm prepared to treat and age water.

> Recommended substrate(s)?