Oxygen Needy Species Aquarium

• Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 vaPearldace

vaPearldace
  • NANFA Guest
  • Central Appalachians

Posted 11 June 2018 - 07:36 PM

Hello all! I am new to NANFA forums and new to keeping fish but I have been a native species enthusiast for several years now. I was wondering if anyone has any advice on starting a native tank, particularly for fish where I cannot skimp on dissolved O2. What filters would be good for a 15-30 gallon tank? what steps do I need to take to insure that the water stays well oxygenated and well filtered? Some species that I am considering from my local area here on a stream in the Shenandoah Valley hill country are Skulpins, Allegheny Pearl Dace, Longnose Dace, Blacknose Dace Rosyside Dace Creek Chub, Bluehead Chub, Fantail Darter and Banded Killifish. I think some of these are pretty dissolved oxygen needy but I am not sure. Any advice is appreciated as I am not very experienced. Thanks!!!

PS. what is a power-head and is it necessary?

PPS. Is a filter different from an aerator or does one machine fulfill both filtration and aeration?         

#2 MtFallsTodd

MtFallsTodd
  • NANFA Member
  • Mountain Falls, Virginia

Posted 12 June 2018 - 05:52 AM

When I had my natives in a 30 gallon tank, 2 hang on back power filters worked great. I just used 2 that were rated for 30 gallons each. Just try not to let the tank get too warm and you shouldn't have a problem. My tank is in a basement that stays below 65 degrees. Your species list is almost identical to mine and most all of them are very hardy. I'm in Frederick county Virginia. If your ever in my neck of the woods I'll show a few good collecting spots.
Deep in the hills of Great North Mountain

#3 gerald

gerald
  • Global Moderator
  • Wake Forest, North Carolina

Posted 12 June 2018 - 07:59 AM