Photo

Anyone Good at Identifying Crayfish Species?

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 Suzanne

Suzanne
  • NANFA Guest
  • NY

Posted 12 November 2018 - 10:52 AM

Hi everyone,
I'm interested in identifying the specific type of crayfish that I have.
It's just for my own curiosity.
I have no experience with identifying different crayfish species.
I would love to be able to tell them apart, so any help will be great!
I'm especially interested in any books or websites that give detailed information on how to differentiate one type of crayfish from another.
The location of origin of this crayfish was near Naples N.Y. in a small pond.

Attached Files

All the best Experts were Beginners who didn't give up.

#2 Suzanne

Suzanne
  • NANFA Guest
  • NY

Posted 12 November 2018 - 11:00 AM

Oh I forgot to add this photo..
I think it is a female crayfish. It is young, I have only had it about a month and it has grown from 3/4" when I got it to about 3" now!

Attached Files

#3 Jconte

Jconte
  • NANFA Member
  • Quincy Illinois

Posted 12 November 2018 - 10:15 PM

Sorry, I cannot help in the least bit. Great pics though.  O:)

#4 lilyea

lilyea
  • NANFA Member
  • Peace River Watershed, Central Florida, USA

Posted 12 November 2018 - 11:09 PM

I think this may be a White River Crayfish (Procambarus acutus).

I am not a crayfish expert and certainly not a NY crayfish expert, although I chased a lot of crayfish in upstate NY creeks as a kid many, many eons ago and still keep crayfish today (along way from NY).

As a source for information on NY crayfish you may want to check out the following: 

YouTube video: "A New York crayfish primer"

PDF: "The Crayfishes of New York State" (Crocker, 1957) https://decapoda.nhm...1/32071-001.pdf

Good luck!

#5 Matt DeLaVega

Matt DeLaVega
  • Forum Staff
  • Ohio

Posted 13 November 2018 - 12:07 AM

Has those long pinchers like a white river. I am unfamiliar with their range.